family

Not YOUR normal waiting area

I spend A LOT of time sitting in my car waiting.

Over the years… swim practice, scout meetings, school pickup, kids at work, band, Six Flags. You name it, I’ve probably waited through it.

Early morning. Late at night. Heat of the day. Freezing cold. Well lit lot. Pitch dark scared for my life in the grossest part of town. Countless HOURS of my life!

I’m not a huge socializer so sitting in my car is usually more palatable than making small talk with relative strangers.

I’m also not a huge fan of driving home just to turn around and drive back. Nap, read, Facebook (heck, even blog) in the car sounds like SO much better use of my time.

Los Osos should have given me a designated parking space by now, I’ve spent so much time in their parking lot. Waiting.

People wonder how I possibly have time to read as many books as I do. I’m ALWAYS waiting for someone!

This morning, I’m waiting again. This time, not for a kid. I’m sitting in a sketchy gravel lot that might be a mobile home park or a construction yard. Who knows.

Irony? E won’t wait for the kids. Thinks I’m insane. And yet… here I am. Waiting for him. In a sketchy lot in Ontario.

Me: I’m going to go get a drink.
E: (looking around) You’re LEAVING me HERE?
Me: Yet, it’s ok for me to sit HERE?

So here I am, waiting… again. Just another day in… paradise?

Leave a comment