adventure, food

Avocados – they’re so amazing we have a THREE DAY festival in their honor

Avocados. I’m fairly certain if you don’t like them you have to turn in your California card. Luckily, we don’t have that problem in our house.  No rain this week – matter of fact, we’re back up into triple digits… so when E suggested the Avocado Festival, it was another HELL YEAH moment. A) food fest, B) beach, C) FOOD FEST!


I didn’t realize it at the time he proposed the idea but E just wanted to eat from the world’s largest bowl of guacamole. Or swim in it like Juli and I did at the sprinkle pool. It wasn’t even on display! It could have been a Tupeprware container for all we knew.  Seriously? If you’re going to advertise the WORLD’S LARGEST BOWL OF GUACAMOLE, have it on display, people!  He settled for chips and guac instead which was yummy and plentiful.


It’s usually sweets that get me excited, especially since I’m not big on chips – so I opted for a cone of the avocado mango sorbet. Ice cream? No brainer. Good choice because it was seriously YUMMY!

img_0044
My AWESOME new shirt from our Huy Fong day. Saw LOTS of people wearing sriracha shirts at the fest! Nothing but love for guac and cock (sauce).

Avocados have been in short supply lately (#thanksglobalwarming) so it was nice to see them guaced, spread, deep fried,  baked, frozen and of course as a photo-op.  The varieties were amazing and the ones as big as our hands, wow!  In the markets they basically have bumpy and smooth (yes, I know they have REAL names) and Lord knows we’ve never been able to grow an avocado tree – so seeing so many different kinds was awesome.

 

 

img_0039-1
Looks kind of Veggie Tales-ish – half expected it to start playing the Hairbrush song.

We got about 8,500 steps in, learned a bunch about avocados, and E scored a case of chips. They’re quinoa chips, but still.  I even treated myself to this necklace, customized for (some of) my obsessions. I just need to find an awesome llama charm. Not bad for a Sunday.


Until next time Avo Fest – Stay Golden, California!

 

1 thought on “Avocados – they’re so amazing we have a THREE DAY festival in their honor”

Leave a comment